Here at VIVA Pediatrics we understand the worries and difficulties that families of children with disabilities have to go through.  In an effort to help our families, we constantly strive to provide them with relevant and helpful resources and information. For current events and opportunities, also visit us on Facebook

Professional
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
211 Texas 2-1-1 211 www.211texas.org
American Nurses Association (800) 274-4262 www.nursingworld.org
Disability Rights Texas (800) 252-9108 www.disabilityrightstx.org
Help for Texans (check local listing) www.dads.state.tx.us/services/index.cfm
National Association for Home Care & Hospice (NACH) (202) 547-7424 www.nahc.org
National Registry of Rehabilitation Technology Suppliers (NRRTS) (800) 976-7789 www.nrrts.org
National Respite Locator Service (800) 773-5433 www.archrespite.org/respitelocator
Poison Control (800) 222-1222 www.poison.org
Texas Association of Home Care and Hospice (TAHCH) (512) 338-9293 www.tahch.org
Disorders & Diseases
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
> Autoimmune Disease Guide: Everything You Need to Know About Autoimmune (888) 466-8635 http://blog.delimmune.com/2014/07/autoimmune-disease-guide/
American Chronic Pain Association (800) 533-3231 www.theacpa.org
American Cleft Palate Association (800) 242-5338 www.cleftline.org
American Diabetes Association (800) 342-2383 www.diabetes.org
American Foundation of Urologic Disease (866) 746-4282 www.urologyhealth.org
American Pain Foundation (888) 615-7246 www.painfoundation.org
Arthritis Foundation (800) 568-4045 www.arthritis.org
Autoimmune Disease in Women (800) 598-4668 http://www.aarda.org/autoimmune-information/autoimmune-disease-in-women
Autoimmune Diseases Fact Sheet (800) 994-9662 http://www.womenshealth.gov/publications/our-publications/fact-sheet/autoimmune-diseases.html
Autoimmune Disorders http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/000816.htm
Birth Injury Guide (877) 415-6603 www.BirthInjuryGuide.org
Cystic Fibrosis Foundation (800) 344-4863 www.cff.org
Dandy Walker Alliance (877) 326-3992 www.dandy-walker.org
Down Syndrome Partnership of Tarrant County (817) 390-2970 www.dsptc.org/
Find AutoImmune Disease Specialists (855) 962-3621 http://www.zocdoc.com/morespecialties
International Down Syndrome Coalition (901) 413-2047 www.theidsc.org
Muscular Dystrophy Association (800) 344-4863 www.mda.org
National Easter Seal Society (800) 221-6827 www.easterseals.com
National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse (800) 891-5390 www.kidney.niddk.nih.gov
National Kidney Foundation (800) 622-9010 www.kidney.org
National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) (800) 999-6673 www.rarediseases.org
Osteoarthritis and the Medicare Advantage Special Needs Plan (888) 312-5447 http://www.planprescriber.com/medicare-advantage/special-needs-plan/
Paralysis Resource Center (800) 539-7309 www.christopherreeve.org
United Cerebral Palsy Association (800) 872) 5827 www.ucp.org
Children
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
A Hand to Hold (855) 424-6428 Ext.3 www.handtohold.org
Childhelp National Child Abuse Hotline (800) 422-4453 http://www.childhelp.org
Children with AIDS Project of America (800) 866-2437 www.aidskids.org
Connections -Special Needs Kids Directory (888) 596-6366 www.specialneedskidsdirectory.com
Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) (800) 628-5115 www.dars.state.tx.us/ecis/index.shtml#eci
Family Voices (800) 835-5669 www.familyvoices.org
La Leche League (800) 525-3243 www.llli.org
Make-A-Wish Foundation of America (800) 722-9474 www.wish.org
March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation (914) 997-4488 www.marchofdimes.com
Medical Transportation Program (877) 633-8747 www.texashealthsteps.com
Medically Dependent Children’s Program (MDCP) (512) 438-2080 www.dads.state.tx.us/providers/mdcp
Money Follows the Person /MDCP Interest List (877) 438-5658 www.dads.state.tx.us/providers/MDCP/index.cfm
Personal Care Services (PCS) (512) 438-3011 www.dads.state.tx.us/services/personalcare.html
Texas Department of Aging and Disability Texas Medicaid and Healthcare Partnership (800) 438-3011 www.dads.state.tx.us/
Texas Health Steps (877) 847-8377 www.dshs.state.tx.us/thsteps/default.shtm
Texas Parent to Parent (866) 896-6001 www.txp2p.org
Traditional Medicaid and Healthcare Partnership (800) 925-9126 www.tmhp.com
Agencies & Institutions
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
American Association of Kidney Patients (800) 749-2257 www.aakp.org
American Council of the Blind (800) 424-8666 www.acb.org
American Foundation for the Blind (800) 232-5463 www.afb.org
American Heart Association (800) 242-8721 www.americanheart.org
American Lung Association (800) 586-4872 www.lungusa.org
American Red Cross (202) 737-8300 www.redcross.org
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (800) 638-8255 www.asha.org
Association for Retarded Citizens (ARC of the United States) (301) 565-3842 www.thearc.org
CDC (Centers for Disease Control) (800) 458-5231 www.cdc.gov
FDA (Food and Drug Administration) (800) 638-6725 www.fda.gov
National Association for the Deaf (301) 587-1788 www.nad.org
National Institute of Health (301) 496-4000 www.nih.gov
National Institute of Mental Health (301) 443-4513 www.nimh.org
Shriners (813) 281-0330 www.shrinershq.org
Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services (800) 628-5115 http://www.dars.state.tx.us/index.shtml
United Way (check local listing) www.liveunited.org
Brain & Spine
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
American Brain Tumor Association (800) 886-2282 www.abta.org
Brain Injury Resource Center (206) 621-8558 www.headinjury.com
Families of Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) (847) 367-7623 www.curesma.com
National Brain Tumor Foundation (800) 934-2873 www.braintumor.org
National Multiple Sclerosis Society (800) 344-4867 www.nationalmssociety.org
National Spinal Cord Injury Association (800) 886-2282 www.spinalcord.org
Spina Bifida Association of America (SBAA) (800) 621-3141 www.spinabifidaassociation.org
Cancer
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
American Cancer Society (800) 422-6237 www.cancer.org
Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (800) 955-4572 www.leukemia-lymphoma.org
National Cancer Institute (800) 422-6237 www.healthcentral.com
Special Needs Camps
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
Family Village http://www.familyvillage.wisc.edu/leisure/camps.html
Very Special Camps http://www.veryspecialcamps.com/Texas/Special-Needs-Summer-Camps.shtml
Wellness
Resource Titlesort descending Contact Number Website Link
Medic Alert Foundation International (888) 633-4298 www.medicalert.org
National Council on Patient Information and Education (301) 656-8565 www.talkaboutrx.org